Research Update

For the past few weeks, I have been working with my mentor, Dr. Conklin to continue our research on Child Sexual Abuse by Adolescent Boys: Comparing 3 Prevention Strategies. One difficult part about my research was finding literature focused on adolescent boys who sexually abuse children. I met with a librarian last week and she helped me navigate the library online catalog. The librarian also helped me explore so much more like the Wordcat, E-brary, Database A to Z. Thanks to her help, I was able to FINALLY find one book focused on adolescent boys who sexually abuse children. I was also able to find many other reliable resources.

Finding professionals who work with the adolescents who abuse children sexually was the most difficult part of my research last year. This year, I started working with Mr. Jared Thiemann from the Department of Counseling at Idaho State University. Mr. Thiemann has been doing working with youth who sexually offend for about four years now.  I am honored to have the opportunity to work with an expert on my topic. I plan to schedule an interview with Mr. Theimann to learn more about the behaviors of youth who sexually offend and what has and has not worked for them. I am really looking forward to this interview.

One thought on “Research Update

Leave a Reply

